Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Roasting for Dummies!!!!!
I need new roasting ideas. I'm just learning how to roast chicken.
Ok, put a dumbass sign on my back.
But, really I am 34yrs old and I'm just really learning how to roast. I have found a great recipe for Apple Cider Chicken and it is yummy. But I would love other roasting ideas. Not just chicken or turkey.
Please make it simple, for this is roasting for dummies here.
My mother gave me my great grandmothers Guardian Service roasting pan and I've been excited to try anything in it. Please help!!!!!
YOU CAN'T FIX STUPID!Thumb_smiley-vault-signs-060
everyone has to start somewhere. and roasting is simple. learn your cuts of meat and arm yourself with a good meat thermometer. those are 2 important things i want to suggest.

i'll come back to your thread to say more, but it's after midnight. 32

instant reading, not the type you leave in roast/oven

[Image: traditional-meat-thermometer.gif]

I have been wanting to make this: http://www.knorr.com/Recipes/7965/1/Autu...nions.aspx but haven't yet.

I'm with LC, bed time. I usually roast beef the old fashioned way with peeled and cut up carrots, potatoes, and onions, a little water, and salt/pepper/garlic on the beef. Not exciting, but good.
(03-15-2013, 07:12 PM)aussiefriend Wrote: You see Duchess, I have set up a thread to discuss something and this troll is behaving just like Riotgear did.
some less tender beef roasts require pot roasting, covered, some liquid. they need to be cooked until tender. potatoes, onions, carrots, all go in a pot roast. cook on low and slow oven. or large crock pot.

some people like lamb pink. not me. yuck. well done, dry roasted, with lots of garlic and rosemary.

poultry always well cooked.

pork must be well done. and can be dry. you'll find lots of roast pork recipes online.

but if i buy a big inexpensive pork shoulder i will cook all day on low, covered, with a good BBQ sauce. and onions in there. maybe baked beans on side.